Infatuation, a year later (draft)

I’ve built a dollhouse in you with

Windows trimmed with my hopes as if

You can give me whatever the stars are made out of.

I want syrupy love

Filtered through a funnel, but 

That kind of talk kills people 

At night in their sleep.

I’ve placed the floorboards behind you.

A bridge to nowhere, but I’ll cross

It like my life depends on it.

I ate the dog eared pages of poetry,

Highlighted sentences trailing over period marks.

I’ve made my bed, blankets hanging

Off the edge

Tugged at by monsters underneath

Leave a Reply

