A man made out of light

His rich beautiful brown skin shimmered in the moonlight,
beamed under the sun,
and glistened under the harsh fluorescent lights.
How have I ravaged through this time,
Taking only pieces of him in with my eyes –
Then turning away as if I cannot give myself up for sacrifice?
If agony is my companion –
Let me be free.
Let me be cast into the ruins of the earth,
dust sifting again and again in the air.
He stands like cattails,
Bending slightly to the breeze,
Then back again.

Leave a Reply

