They love me like hip – hop
Bebop, head rocking,  shoulder popping
Music that asks when the injustices stop
They place free minds in holding cells
Swishing them around in Qurel
Then hopscotch back to the pews
To forget to pray for the front page news
They love me like artificial soul music
Hitting rewind on the CD-rom disc.

Ask me when the time is right
To play fight
In the streets with kids
Who use to amuse themselves with stray trashcan lids,
They ask me to talk in my black voice
Big, tall, sassy and a comedian’s choice
They love me like jumping jacks
Build hustle and count stacks,
Get locked up
Use the people who look like me as a spit cup.
They love me like hip hop
Quick fist, right jab
Flight change to the next stop
Elevated rap.

Leave a Reply

