Tangible invisibility

To understand desire,
I peeled the fibers out of flower petals
And pressed them to my mouth.
One by one,
I rubbed their scent on my skin.
Yellow pollen,
I was decorated in –
Began to attract the bumblebees.
I feared the job they must do –
Extract from me what I have taken.
Patches of sun formed lopsided shapes on the grass,
With the sun lowly present,
The shade covered most in its path.
Like a tattoo gun,
Bees vibrated against my skin,
The hairs on my arms pulsed to their rhythm.
I closed my eyes and kept my mouth shut,
This is how I want to vanish.
This is how I want to overcome what scares me the most,
Intimacy.

Leave a Reply

