Oh, honey

Honey,
You are what we savor,
Wishing for knowledge
That is gathered at the end of times.
Travel through me,
And search for the sea salt sea.
My tongue waves
As the sea crashes to and fro,
Restless waves battering us in two.
The left side of my brain wants to reason but,
The right side ducks its head
Drowning in my thoughts.
Honey,
I want to come home.
Leave the porch light on
And the top lock, unlocked.
I’ll be safer this year with myself.
I want time to chase me,
Try to beat me down Main street
And say
I won’t make it back home to you.
I want it to crack my skull in two,
Then
Take the wooden spoon out of the drawer
And work with my gingerbread dough mind.
Honey,
I am waiting for myself to finally be ready,
For you and for me,
All at once.

Leave a Reply

