“I’m not like those other girls”

We said girls put their heart on their sleeves
And let everything get to them
I said all this 6 times out of 10
While shuffling my feet
Thinking how many times I had changed my disposition
How I hung on words like ‘love’
And sunk into my skin things such as ‘resistance is futile’
Refuting change is futile
We said that respect derives from appearance and how one presents oneself
Yet once again
We tried to balance our weight shifting from one hip to the next
While,
Quoting how we can not speak about one another without fully knowing what was in us
What could possibly come out of us
Hatred
An infectious lust for having the last word
With the ability to change it at any time
For any person
For any one moment that had suddenly cast our demeanor
We said in between incomplete conversations
That girls wear their heart on their sleeves
And you and I are one of them.

Leave a Reply

