The kids who are prime examples of what it means to be alright

I think I’ll go home and lay my bones down
Leave the door unlocked so the thief
Who arrives regularly as the mail men
Can take hold of them
I think I’ll go home
And remind myself how many times people aspire to say they are truly alright
Conscientious of how it’s more than enough to not be alright.
I think I’ll go home and turn all the lights on and sleep with them on
So thieves won’t stumble in the dark
But solace in what shines in the light
What beams through the window
As bright as headlights ten o clock at night
I think I’ll stay awhile
Dwindle the time away
Sewing each moment wasted on the hem of my night gown
I think I’ll stay awhile
And set the clocks back
Leave the house five minutes later than usual
Just to show how conscientious we all are
Of saying it’s alright to not want to leave the mattress
But lay there saying “I’m alright”
If I start to disappear the thieves will scatter the remnants of me
Around and around
Letting each one take flight
As I never had a chance to before
I think I’ll go home now
And no longer guard the door
For whoever comes in to see me
Will know
I’ll go home with this knot in the lobe of brain
How we can all say the kids are alright
Just let them sleep for a little while longer

Leave a Reply

