Cassette canaries

I tuck away the parts of myself
Folding each fold
Intricately
Hidden
In circumstances that to be unpredictable
Is to remain strong
I judge silently
Weighing each option
That no one can hurt me
I judge,
Conspicuously
Arranging how honest one person can be
Without feeling as if a white lie
Can be traded for a piece of relief
That the outcomes of our lives are uncertain
I sing as a canary
Who claims to sing mostly croaking wails
When in light,
I come as kinder
As a traveler who speaks not of the perils of his town,
Nor the war that wages
But when the sun rises,
It shines perfectly to catch the glean on the forest of trees

Leave a Reply

